November 10, 2012; Tuscaloosa, AL, USA; Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel works his magic against the Alabama Crimson Tide in an impressive effort that unseated the nation's number one team. US PRESSWIRE

Johnny Manziel Wins Walter Camp Offensive Player of the Week Award

For the second time this season, Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel has been named the Walter Camp Award Offensive Player of the Week. The 19-year-old sensation who is making a name for himself as “Johnny Football” joins West Virginia Mountaineers quarterback Geno Smith as the only players to win the award twice this season.

Manziel was honored after his impressive performance against the nation’s number one ranked team and defense. It also happened to be the defending national champions.

Johnny Football had 345 yards of total offense and found the endzone twice.

On the defensive side of the ball, South Carolina defensive back D.J. Swearinger won the award after recording thirteen tackles and returning an interception for a touchdown.

Here are the week-by-week winners of the Walter Camp awards:

Week 1: West Virginia quarterback Geno Smith, Alabama cornerback Dee Milliner
Week 2: Louisiana-Monroe quarterback Kolton Browning, Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones
Week 3
: Stanford running back Stepfan Taylor, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o
Week 4
: Nevada running back Stefphon Jefferson, Western Michigan linebacker Desmond Bozeman
Week 5
: West Virginia quarterback Geno Smith, Penn State linebacker Michael Mauti
Week 6
: Florida running back Mike Gillislee, Oregon State cornerback Jordan Poyer
Week 7
: Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Rutgers linebacker Khaseem Greene
Week 8
: Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, LSU linebacker Kevin Minter
Week 9
: Arizona quarterback Matt Scott, Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones
Week 10
: Oregon running back Kenjon Barner, Kansas State cornerback Allen Chapman
Week 11
: Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, South Carolina safety D.J. Swearinger

Tags: Football Johnny Football Johnny Manziel Texas A&M Aggies

comments powered by Disqus