Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Triple Crown Champ Miguel Cabrera Wins A.L. MVP; Buster Posey Wins N.L. MVP

The most interesting awards race in baseball came down to who would take home the hardware for the American League MVP. The race was down to Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera and Angels rookie sensation Mike Trout. Some thought that Trout’s explosion on the scene was worthy of the MVP and others thought Cabrera’s historic season was all the evidence needed to take home the award.

Well, Trout took home the Rookie of the Year award and baseball writers across the country thought that winning the Triple Crown was enough to give Cabrera the edge in the MVP race.

And saying winning the Triple Crown gave Cabrera the edge is a massive understatement.

For who are keeping count, Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre finished in third place in the voting. But Cabrera took home 22 of 28 first place votes with the rest being split between Beltre and Trout.

Cabrera had a historic season in 2012, hitting .330 with 44 homers and 139 RBIs on his way to become the first Triple Crown winner since Red Sox legend Carl Yastrzemski in 1967. Cabrera also led the league with a .606 slugging percentage for the AL champion Tigers. The MVP award was coming, but it’s just another jewel on Cabrera’s crown.

Posey Wins N.L. MVP: The San Francisco Giants came out of nowhere to win the World Series yet again this year, and a big part of that was catcher and former Rookie of the Year Buster Posey. As a result, he was rewarded with a landslide victory in the N.L. MVP voting.

Posey became the first catcher in 40 years to win the N.L. award, receiving 27 of 32 first-place votes and 422 points from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Posey’s closest competition was 2011 MVP Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers who finished in a distant second place with just 285 points, just over half the votes Posey got.

Tags: Detroit Tigers MLB MVP San Francisco Giants

comments powered by Disqus