Photo of the Ray Lombardi Award as seen on the Texas A&M campus.

SEC Players Dominate List Of Lombardi Award Finalists

As the college football season is coming to an end, finalists are being named for the nation’s most prestigious awards. One of the first awards to name their finalists is the Rotary Lombardi Award. The Lombardi Award is handed out very year to the nation’s top lineman or linebacker.

Here is the list of the four Lombardi Award finalists:

  • Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, Defensive End
  • Barrett Jones, Alabama, Offensive Lineman
  • Jarvis Jones, Georgia, Outside Linebacker
  • Manti Te’o, Notre Dame, Inside Linebacker

This year’s list is dominated by SEC players. Out of the four finalists, only Jones and Te’o are repeat finalists.

“We are honored to be able to help sustain the legacy of Coach [Vince] Lombardi by recognizing the singular leadership and talents of these outstanding players, and we extend our congratulations to all of our past winners and finalists who share in this legacy,” said Steve Vetrano, co-chair of the Rotary Lombardi Award. “We also want to thank everyone who played a part in supporting this year’s award process, and look forward to the announcement of our 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award winner.”

Who should be the favorite to win the award?

Tags: Alabama Crimson Tide College Football Awards Football Georgia Bulldogs Notre Dame Fighting Irish South Carolina Gamecocks

comments powered by Disqus