Sep 15, 2012; East Lansing, MI, USA; Notre Dame Fighting Irish linebacker Manti Te'o looks into the crowd following the team's victory in East Lansing. PHOTO CREDIT: US PRESSWIRE

Finalists Announced For Major College Football Awards

The finalists have been named for nine of college football’s major awards including the Biletnikoff, Doak Walker, Chuck Bednarik, Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Awards.

ESPN released the finalists for the awards.

The awards will be handed out on ESPN’s  Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will air on December 6 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

Who was named a finalist for the most prestigious awards in the game? Here are the finalists:

Chuck Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year)
Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Jarvis Jones, Georgia
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

Biletnikoff Award (Nation’s Outstanding Receiver)
Stedman Bailey, West Virginia
Marqise Lee , USC
Terrance Williams, Baylor

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker)
Dustin Hopkins, FSU
Cairo Santos, Tulane
Caleb Sturgis, Florida

Ray Guy Award (Nation’s Outstanding Punter)
Ryan Allen, La Tech
Kyle Christy, Florida
Scott Kovanda, Ball State

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)
Collin Klein, Kansas State
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (Nation’s Best Quarterback)
Collin Klein, Kansas State
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Braxton Miller, Ohio State

Outland Trophy (Nation’s Outstanding Interior Lineman)
Jonathan Cooper, UNC
Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
Barrett Jones, Alabama

Jim Thorpe Award (Nation’s Outstanding Defensive Back)
Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
Dee Milliner, Alabama
Phillip Thomas, Fresno State

Doak Walker Award (Nation’s Outstanding Running Back)
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Johnathan Franklin, UCLA

Tags: College Football College Football Awards

comments powered by Disqus