Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan Nominated For FIFA Player of the Year

September 1, 2012; Rochester, NY, USA; USA forward Alex Morgan (13) hugs teammate Abby Wambach (14) as Wambach scored her second goal in a friendly match against Costa Rica at Sahlen

American women’s soccer stars Abby Wambach and Alex Morgan have received a major honor after a year which they led Team USA’s soccer team to a third straight gold medal.

Wambach and Morgan have been nominated to be named FIFA Player of the Year.

“What a tremendous honor for all of us,” Wambach said. “And even more so to be recognized with Alex, someone who compliments me in almost every way on the field.”

If either of the American stars win the award, they will be the first American to bring home the award since Mia Hamm back in 2002. The two combined for 50 international goals this year and led Team USA to an undefeated record – 13-0-2.

Canadian Cristiane Sinclair was one of the snubs for the award and her coach was not very happy about the development.

“It’s a travesty,” Canadian coach John Herdman said. “A player who can score a hat trick in a semi-final and lead her country to the first medal since 1936, the first time Canada’s ever been on a [soccer] podium at one of these events.. and she can’t get in the top three.”

“There’s something wrong somewhere. But… you don’t want to be pointing fingers at people. It is what it is.”

The other finalist joining Wambach and Morgan is Brazil’s Marta, who has won the award for the past five years.

Topics: Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, FIFA, USA Soccer

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

LiveFeed The latest from the Fansided Network

Comments 0

Bernie Kosar blames firing on concussions

Comments 0

NBA Rumors: Utah Jazz considering over 20 head coaches

Comments 0

SportsCenter graphic puts Tony Romo as Pacers head coach