Dec 11, 2010; New York, NY, USA; A detail view of the Heisman Trophy before the presentation ceremony at the Marriott Marquis in New York City. Mandatory Credit: Rob Christy-USA TODAY Sports

Heisman Trophy Finalists Announced: Johnny Manziel, Manti Te’o, Collin Klein

Finalists for the 2012 Heisman Trophy have been announced.

Three finalists were announced on Monday for the most prestigious award in college football and there were no surprises among those named.

Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel, Notre Dame Fighting Irish linebacker Manti Te’o and Kansas State Wildcats signal-caller Collin Klein have been named the Heisman finalists.

If Manziel were to win the Heisman, he would be the first freshman to ever take home the award.

Were Te’o to be named the Heisman Trophy winner, he would become the first defensive player to take home the award since Charles Woodson earned the award in 1997 with the Michigan Wolverines. He would become the first pure defender to ever earn the award.

If the honor goes to Klein, who is only the second Kansas State player to be invited to New York, he would become the first Wildcat to ever bring home the Heisman.

The award ceremony will take place at the Best Buy Theater in New York’s Times Square on December 8th.

Projections have Manziel winning the award with Te’o in second and Klein in third. The only thing that could hold Manziel back would be old school voters who are not ready for a freshman to win the award.

Who do you think deserves the Heisman? Vote in the poll below and let your voice be heard in the comments section:

Who should win the Heisman Trophy?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Tags: Collin Klein Football Heisman Trophy Johnny Manziel Kansas State Wildcats Manti Te'o Notre Dame Fighting Irish Texas A&M Aggies

  • KevinB

    Braxton Miller

  • Joshua Clarke

    Montee Ball

  • Jennifer Michelle Matthews

    If no one if going for it from Bama I dont care who wins.

  • Jan Burton Hoobler

    If Manziel wins the Heisman, it will be a slap in the face to the other nominees. Manziel has had 1 season…”1″ & he is a freshman. One good season DOES NOT a Heisman make!

    • Jared Bartlett

      The Heisman trophy is not a career award. It is an award for the best player of that season, which is Johnny Manziel hands down.