CONCACAF Gold Cup 2013: Venues Announced For Tournament

Venues have been announced for this summer’s Gold Cup. CONCACAF released a statement that lists the 13 host sites for the tournament games. This year, there are eight new stadiums being used for the 2013 tournament. From the statement:

“With a mix of historic venues and brand new state of the art soccer facilities that average 57,000 spectators, the 2013 edition of the Gold Cup promises to provide fans both in stadium and at home with unforgettable atmospheres in world class venues.”

There is a mix of football stadiums and MLS stadiums among the list of host sites. While the venues have been announced, matchups will not be set until the field is completed. What are the 13 host sites for this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup?

  • Atlanta – Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)
  • Baltimore – M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)
  • Chicago – Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
  • Dallas – Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)
  • Denver – Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver, CO)
  • Hartford – Rentschler Field (East Hartford, CT)
  • Houston – BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
  • Los Angeles – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
  • Miami – Sun Life Stadium (Miami Gardens, FL)
  • New York- Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
  • Portland – JELD-WEN Field (Portland, OR)
  • Salt Lake City – Rio Tinto Stadium (Sandy, UT)
  • Seattle – CenturyLink Field (Seattle, WA)

Eleven of the twelve nations in the tournament have been identified. The eleven teams that have already secured their spot in the Gold Cup are Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States.

Guatemala and Panama and will meet this Friday to determine the final team in the tournament.

Tags: CONCACAF Gold Cup

comments powered by Disqus