NASCAR Announces Newest Hall of Fame Class

May 6, 2012; Talladega, AL, USA; Mini bobble heads of Dale Jarrett and John Andretti on a table in the infield prior to the running of the Aarons 499 at Talladega Superspeedway. Mandatory Credit: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier on Wednesday, NASCAR announced their newest Hall of Fame class. When the voting was wrapped up, the field of 25 nominees was narrowed down to the five finalists and inductees.

The five men that were elected to the next NASCAR Hall of Fame class are Dale Jarrett,  Maurice Petty, Tim Flock, Jack Ingram and Fireball Roberts. The inductees give the Jarrett and Petty families an even stronger presence in NASCAR’s history.

NASCAR legend Richard Petty was supportive of the Hall of Fame class and said that all of the men are worthy of the honor.

“When you look up there at all of the wins these guys have had, the championships they’ve had together and the influence they’ve had on NASCAR over the period of years, from Tim Flock up to Dale Jarrett and everything in between, is when NASCAR grew,” Petty said, via the Associated Press.

The group of five will be inducted in to the NASCAR Hall of Fame next January as the 2014 Hall of Fame class in Charlotte.

Congratulations to all of the men for the great honor.

Topics: NASCAR

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

24 minutes ago

New York Mets minor league team to celebrate Seinfeld night in July

26 minutes ago

Rick Hawn expects a striking battle against Douglas Lima; says training judo is harder than MMA

33 minutes ago

NBA Rumors: Timberwolves to consult Kevin Love on next head coach, won’t give him final say