Dec 29, 2012; Bronx, NY, USA; New York Yankees president Randy Levine (left) and chief operating officer Lonn Trost (center) present Syracuse Orange head coach Doug Marrone with the 2012 New Era Pinstripe Bowl Championship trophy following his teams 38-14 victory over the West Virginia Mountaineers at Yankee Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

ACC and Pinstripe Bowl Agree On A Deal

The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has come to terms with the Pinstripe Bowl that will send a team to Yankee Stadium. The deal was announced by the New York Yankees and will begin in 2014. The Pinstripe Bowl announced a similar deal with the Big Ten earlier in June.

The ACC will replace the American Athletic Conference, formerly known as the Big East. The AAC helped start the Pinstripe Bowl 4 years ago. The Big East is undefeated in this Bowl game.

Syracuse has won twice defeating Big 12 teams Kansas State in 2010, and West Virginia and Geno Smith in 2012. Rutgers is the only other Pinstripe Bowl Champion, and they defeated Iowa State in 2011.

There is no word whether the Big 12 will continue to send teams to face ACC teams.

The Trophy of the Pinstripe Bowl is named the “George M. Steinbrenner Trophy” after the famous former owner of the New York Yankees. The Pinstripe Bowl brought a bowl game to New York City for the first time since 1981.

This comes on the heals of the Big Ten and Pacific-12 Conference agreeing to a pair of match ups in California bowl games: Holiday Bowl in San Diego and the Kraft Hunger Bowl in San Francisco. Those deals were for six years starting in 2014.

Tags: Pinstripe Bowl

comments powered by Disqus