2013 NHL Hall of Fame Class Announced

Nov 12, 2011; Toronto, ON, Canada; The Air Canada Centre before the Hockey Hall of Fame Game between the Ottawa Senators and Toronto Maple Leafs at the Air Canada Centre. Mandatory Credit: Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

The NHL announced their 2013 Hall of Fame class on Tuesday in Toronto. The players and coach inducted as part of the 2013 Hall of Fame class were Chris Chelios, Scott Niedermayer, Brendan Shanahan, retired female player Geraldine Heaney and late ex-coach Fred Shero.

Out of the players that received the honor, Chelios and Niedermayer were in their first-year of eligibility for consideration.

Your usual names of Rob Blake, Paul Kariya, Rod Brind’Amour, Keith Tkachuk, Sergei Zubov, Phil Housley, Dave Andreychuk, Eric Lindros and Tom Barrasso are the names causing the most controversy as omissions.

For the three men that received the honor, they will be officially inducted to the Hall of Fame on November of this year.

Topics: Brendan Shanahan, Chicago Blackhawks, Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings, New Jersey Devils, Scott Niedermayer

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

LiveFeed The latest from the Fansided Network

Comments 0

What’s up with WhatsApp

Comments 0

Phil Jackson: San Antonio Spurs are not a dynasty

Comments 0

Russell Wilson files for divorce from wife Ashton