Feb 3, 2013; New Orleans, LA, USA; Baltimore Ravens inside linebacker Ray Lewis celebrates after defeating the San Francisco 49ers 34-31 in Super Bowl XLVII at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Ray Lewis Will Be Enshrined In Ravens Ring Of Honor Sept. 22

Ray Lewis is arguably the biggest player in Baltimore Ravens history. They recognize his importance to the fans and the franchise and are moving quickly to enshrine him in their Ring of Honor.

The Baltimore Ravens will be enshrined during half time of the September 22nd match up versus the Houston Texans. It’s the second home game of the season, the first one will celebrate their Super Bowl win.

Interesting note about his enshrinement coming at half time of the Ravens/Texans game is that his long time teammate Ed Reed will be present as well. Reed signed with the Houston Texans this offseason.

Ray Lewis is the Ravens all-time leader in tackles (2,643) and fumbles recovered (20) and second in interceptions to Reed (31). He was a first round draft pick in 1996, went to 13 Pro-Bowls, a 7 time All-Pro First Team. The AP named him Defensive Player of the year in 2000 and 2003 and he was the 2000 Super Bowl MVP.

From the Baltimore Sun:

“Every moment I’ve ever had in this building, what this organization has done for me, what this city has done for me, what my fans have done for me, what the mutual respect for different players have done for me around this league, I can never take any of that back,” Lewis said during the news conference when he announced his retirement. “That’s the ultimate when you leave this game. You leave it with one heck of a legacy. Hopefully, I’ve done a heck of a job doing it, but it’s time for me to go create a different legacy.”

There Ring Of Honor already is home to:

  • Earnest Byner (2001)
  • Johnny Unites (2002)*
  • Raymond Berry (2002)*
  • Lenny Moore (2002)*
  • Art Donovan (2002)*
  • Gino Marchetti (2002)*
  • John Mackey (2002)*
  • Jim Parker (2002)*
  • Ted Hendricks (2002)*
  • Art Moddell (2003)
  • Michael McCrary (2004)
  • Peter Boulware (2006)
  • Jonathan Ogden (2008)
  • Matt Stover (2011)
  • Jamal Lewis (2012)

*- Baltimore Colts players enshrined

Tags: Baltimore Ravens Ray Lewis

comments powered by Disqus