January 9, 2013; New York, NY, USA; NHL commissioner Gary Bettman addresses the National Hockey League lockout during a press conference at the Westin New York in Times Square. Mandatory Credit: Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

NHL Announces New Division Names

We have know that realignment was coming to the NHL for the 2013-14 season, but now we know the official names of the new divisions. The NHL announced the official realignment on Friday, with the new playoff rules and names for each of the new divisions.

For those wondering, the Western Conference will be broken in to the Pacific and Central Divisions, while the Eastern Conference features the Atlantic Division and Metropolitan Division.

As for the new playoff format, here is a breakdown from NHL.com:

Playoff qualification will be primarily Division-based, with the top three finishers in each Division qualifying for the first 12 spots in the Stanley Cup Playoffs (and the first three “seeds” in each Division).

The two additional playoff spots in each Conference, designated as “Wild Cards,” will be awarded to the next two highest-placed finishers in each Conference, ranked on the basis of regular-season points and regardless of Division.

The League will play under this new alignment and playoff system for a minimum of three seasons, through the 2015-16 NHL season.

What do you think of the realignment and division names? Be sure to share your thoughts in the comments section.

Here are your new divisions:

Pacific Division Central Division Metropolitan Division
Atlantic Division
Anaheim Chicago Carolina Boston
Calgary Colorado Columbus Buffalo
Edmonton Dallas New Jersey Detroit
Los Angeles Minnesota NY Islanders Florida
Phoenix Nashville NY Rangers Montreal
San Jose St. Louis Philadelphia Ottawa
Vancouver Winnipeg Pittsburgh Tampa Bay
Washington Toronto


Tags: NHL

comments powered by Disqus