It’s a bad day to be Vinnie Catricala, who plays for the Oakland Athletics Double-A affiliate, the Midland RockHounds.
On Thursday night, cameras were rolling as the RockHounds and Catricala took on the Corpus Christi Hooks.
Catricala, who was up to bat, took a first pitch called strike. All was good, though, Catricala was unhappy with the call and stepped out of the batter’s box to file his grievance with home plate umpire Ron Teague. Teague felt that Catricala was taking far too long to return to the batter’s box so he called another strike.
Catricala was apparently unaware of the second called strike (or didn’t care) and still took his time outside of the box (nearly 9 seconds!) which resulted in Teague calling a third and final strike. Caticala was then ejected from the game after he argued the call(s).
See – the old saying rings true. You can always see something new at a baseball game, no matter how many innings you’ve partaken in.
Enjoy the hilarity below: