In the first fight of the night at UFC Fight Night 27, Abel Trujillo took on Roger Bowling. It was an entertaining back and forth battle that ended in controversy when the referee ruled Trujillo hit Bowling with an unintentional illegal knee. The fight was ruled a no contest, despite it looking like Trujillo landed clear shots and scored the knockout with a punch.
After the fight, UFC president Dana White said that he disagreed with the ruling and would be making sure that Trujillo got the money he deserved.
“Those shots were not illegal,” White said at the post-fight press conference. “The first one hit him in the chest, and the second hit him in the shoulder. That kid should’ve won that fight, and I’m going to pay him his win bonus.”
This is the kind of thing that Dana White will often do for his fighters after an event. He does take care of the guys and hands out plenty of bonuses behind closed doors that we don’t always get to hear about. It just goes to show how out of touch Tito Ortiz is when he says that working for White is like slavery.
When I first saw the fight, it looked like both shots were clearly legal. It was the punch after Bowling had the wind sucked out of him that put him away. If the ref would have been paying closer attention — to be fair, he was a bit out of position — or if there was a regulated replay in the sport, Trujillo would have been given the knockout win.
What are your thoughts on the ruling? Sound off in the comments section and share your thoughts.