Sep 3, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Detroit Tigers manager Jim Leyland (10) prior to a game against the Boston Red Sox at Fenway Park. Mandatory Credit: Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

MLB Releases Regular Season Schedule For 2014

The 2013 baseball season is coming to an end very soon, and that can mean only one thing it’s time to start thinking about the next season. The 2014 season will be the final one that Commissioner Bud Selig plans to preside over before his term expires in December.

The season will officially begin March 22 when the Los Angeles Dodgers and Arizona Diamondbacks play a tw0-game series at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney, Australia. The regular season will end Sept. 28, maintaining Selig’s pledge the World Series will conclude before November.

The rest of the traditional opening-day games will be Monday, March 31, which includes the first interleague  game of the season with the Texas Rangers hosting the Philadelphia Phillies. The Cincinnati Reds will also host their traditional opener on March 31 against their NL Central Division rival St. Louis Cardinals.

This season in interleague play, the American League West will play the NL East; the AL Central will play the NL West; and the AL East will play the NL Central.

There are also other key matchups:

  • The New York Yankees and Chicago Cubs will play a home-and home series April 15-16 at Yankee Stadium, and May 20-21 at Wrigley Field.
  • The Los Angeles Dodgers and Detroit Tigers will play a home-and home series April 8-9 at Dodger Stadium, and July 8-9 at Tiger Stadium.
  • The Philadelphia Phillies and Toronto Blue Jays are playing one another in a home-and home series May 5-8, 21 years after their 1993 World Series.

Tags: Arizona Diamondbacks Chicago Cubs Cincinnati Reds Detroit Tigers Los Angeles Dodgers MLB New York Yankees Philadelphia Phillies St. Louis Cardinals Toronto Blue Jays

comments powered by Disqus