Sep 5, 2013; Tempe, AZ, USA; Arizona State Sun Devils wide receiver Jaelen Strong (21) catches a touchdown in the second quarter against the Sacramento State Hornets at Sun Devil Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Biletnikoff Award adds three receivers to its watch list

According to a media release Tuesday, the Biletnikoff Award added three wide receivers to its watch list.

Pitt freshman Tyler Boyd, SMU senior Jeremy Johnson and Arizona State sophomore Jaelen Strong are among the additions.

Boyd reeled in seven receptions for 111 yards and rushed twice for five yards in a 14-3 win against visiting Virginia last Saturday. He has 23 receptions for 425 yards and four touchdowns through four games this season.

Johnson caught 11 receptions for 159 yards and a score in the Mustangs’ 48-17 loss at Texas Christian last Saturday. He has 34 receptions for 418 yards and one score through four games this season.

Strong had seven receptions for 103 yards in a 62-41 win against visit USC last Saturday. He has 31 receptions for 433 yards and two touchdowns through four games this year.

Pitt (3-1, 2-1 ACC) visits Virginia Tech at noon Saturday, Oct. 12 at Lane Stadium in Blacksburg. ESPNU will televise the matchup.

SMU (1-3, 0-0 American) hosts Rutgers at noon Saturday at Gerald J. Ford Stadium in Dallas. ESPNews will televise the tilt.

Arizona State (3-1, 1-1) faces Notre Dame at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at AT&T Stadium in Arlington. NBC will broadcast the game.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented to the nation’s outstanding college receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation annually. It is named after Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame and a former All-American at Florida State.

The Biletnikoff Award will continue to add receivers to its watch list leading up to Nov. 18. On that date, the semifinalists will be announced. The finalists will be announced Nov. 25, and the winner will be announced Dec. 12 on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN.

USC receiver Marqise Lee won the award in 2012.

Tags: Arizona State Sun Devils Football Pitt Panthers SMU Mustangs

  • jeffrey

    Jaelen Strong is a stud and will be in the running if not win at the end of the season thanks to Taylor Kelly.