May 25, 2013; London, UNITED KINGDOM; Bayern Munich goalie Manuel Neuer celebrates with the trophy after the Champions League final against Borussia Dortmund at Wembley Stadium. Bayern Munich won 2-1. Mandatory Credit: Tim Groothuis/Witters Sport via USA TODAY Sports

UEFA Champions League results

Today, another round of Champions League group stage games were completed. Ahead of Tuesdasy, I said that the Celtic and Barcelona match-up was the marquee game to watch. It certainly lived up to the hype and was entertaining. The possession stats heavily favored Barcelona, who were in control, but it was a good game none the less.

Scott Brown, the Celtic captain, got a straight red for kicking Neymar when he was down. Despite playing down a man for just over 30 minutes, Celtic had two great opportunities to score and go ahead. After Celtic missed both chances, Cesc Fabregas scored to give Barcelona the win.

Arsenal played well, scoring two goals in the first 15 minutes of the game. Their Napoli opponents beat Borussia Dortmund in Champions League play two weeks ago. Dortmund also won today, despite playing without their manager who was banned following a touch-line tirade with the fourth official in that loss to Napoli.

Chelsea got their first win of Champions League group play after being stunned at home by FC Basel in a 2-1 loss.

Status Home Score Away Stage Venue
FT FC Basel 0-1 Schalke 04 Group E St Jakob-Park (20,000)
FT Steaua Bucuresti 0-4 Chelsea Group E Stadionul Ghencea (50,000)
FT Arsenal 2-0 Napoli Group F Emirates Stadium (50,000)
FT Borussia Dortmund 3-0 Marseille Group F Signal-Iduna-Park (65,000)
FT Zenit St Petersburg 0-0 Austria Vienna Group G Petrovski Stadium (19,500)
FT FC Porto 1-2 Atletico Madrid Group G Estadio do Dragao (37,500)
FT Ajax Amsterdam 1-1 AC Milan Group H Amsterdam ArenA (51,962)
FT Celtic 0-1 Barcelona Group H Celtic Park (60,000)

Tags: AC Milan Ajax Amsterdam Arsenal Arsenal FC Atletico Madrid Austria Vienna Barcelona Borussia Dortmund Celtic Celtic FC Champions League Chelsea Chelsea FC FC Barcelona FC Basel FC Porto FC Schalke 04 Marseille Napoli Olympique Marseille Schalke 04 Steaua Bucuresti UEFA Champions League Zenit Zenit St Petersburg