Oct 12, 2013; Concord, NC, USA; NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Brad Keselowski (2) celebrates winning the Bank of America 500 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Liles-USA TODAY Sports

Keselowski's 37-race losing streak ends with win

Brad Keselowski, the defending Sprint Cup Champion, has finally won a race after a 37 straight losses. The win is more than just a win though; it was a rare occurrence for a driver who wasn’t in the season’s Chase for the Sprint Cup.

According to ESPN,

After failing to make the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship this year, Keselowski grabbed his first win of the season and first since Sept. 30, 2012, at Dover, by passing Kasey Kahne with nine laps to go at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

In doing so, Keselowski became the rare non-Chase driver to win a Chase race. The last to do so was Kahne in 2011 at Phoenix.

Matt Kenseth, who finished third at Charlotte, has managed to bring his lead to four points in the Chase for the Sprint Cup Standings. Here’s a list of the Chase Standing as they are after Charlotte’s race

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Jimmie Johnson (-4)
3. Kevin Harvick (-29)
4. Jeff Gordon (-36)
5. Kyle Busch (-37)
6. Greg Biffle (-58)
7. Kurt Busch (-59)
8. Clint Bowyer (-63)
9. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-66)
10. Carl Edwards (-67)
11. Joey Logano (-75)
12. Ryan Newman (-78)
13. Kasey Kahne (-81)

Who do you think will take home the Cup at season’s end? Can Kenseth hold his lead, or will Johnson or another driver claim the top spot when it’s all said and done? Leave a comment down below!



Tags: Brad Keselowski Matt Kenseth NASCAR

comments powered by Disqus