College football playoff committee announcement set for Wednesday

Barry Alvarez


As each week of the college football season passes, we come to the realization that this will be the last year of the BCS. Like it or not, this will be the final year that the computers have the final say in things. Next season, the college football committee will be given the authority in the game, and will be choosing the final four teams that will compete for that coveted national championship.

According to ESPN, we’ll know definitively who those people will be in an announcement set for Wednesday.

Thus far, here’s an updated list of the names that we’ve already heard of that will be partaking in the committee:

• Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez

• Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Gould, a former Air Force Academy superintendent

• USC athletic director Pat Haden

• Former NCAA executive vice president Tom Jernstedt

• West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck

• Former NFL and Ole Miss quarterback Archie Manning

• Former Nebraska athletic director/coach Tom Osborne

• Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich

• Former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice

• Former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese

• Former USA Today reporter Steve Wieberg

• Former Stanford/Notre Dame/Washington coach Tyrone Willingham

We’ve also learned today that Arkansas’ Jeff Long has been named the Chairman of the committee.

Tags: College Football College Football Playoff

comments powered by Disqus