Oct 19, 2013; Eugene, OR, USA; Oregon Ducks cornerback Ifo Ekpre-Olomu (14) catches the ball for a touch back against the Washington State Cougars at Autzen Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

15 semifinalists for Jim Thorpe Award announced

The folks behind the Jim Thorpe Award, given annually to the nation’s top defensive back, just announced the group of 15 semifinalists eligible for the honor this year.

They are…

C.J. Barnett, Sr. Ohio State
Deone Bucannon,
Sr. Washington State
Landon Collins,
Soph. Alabama
Aaron Colvin,
Sr.  University of Oklahoma
Darqueze Dennard,
Sr. Michigan State
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu,
Jr. Oregon
Kyle Fuller,
Sr. Virginia Tech
Vernon Hargreaves, 
Fr.  Florida
Lamarcus Joyner,
Sr., Florida State
Steven Nelson,
Jr. Oregon State
Cody Prewitt,
Jr. Ole Miss
Calvin Pryor,
Jr. Louisville
Jason Verrett,
Jimmie Ward,
Sr. N. Illinois
Ty Zimmerman, 
Sr. Kansas State

For those too lazy or indifferent to count, the SEC, the Pac-12 and the Big 12 all have three players nominated. Of the 15 semifinalists, only Oregon’s Ifo Ekpre-Olomu was a semifinalist in 2012.

Previous winners of the award include Antoine Winfield (Ohio State, 1998), Roy Williams (Oklahoma, 2001), Carlos Rogers (Auburn, 2004), Malcolm Jenkins (Ohio State, 2008), Eric Berry (Tennessee, 2009), and Patrick Peterson (LSU, 2010).

Was your favorite defensive back left of the list of nominees this year? Let your complaints fly in the comments below.

[Source: Jim Thorpe Association]

Tags: Jim Thorpe Award

comments powered by Disqus