Breaking News Adrian Peterson must stay away from Vikings until legal issues are resolved ×

Oct 26, 2013; Tallahassee, FL, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) throws the ball during the game against the North Carolina State Wolfpack at Doak Campbell Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Melina Vastola-USA TODAY Sports

2013 Maxwell Award semifinalists announced

The semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, recognizing the collegiate player of the year for a given season, were announced on Tuesday. The award is given out annually during the Home Depot College Football Award show, and is sometimes a good indication of who will win the Heisman Trophy a few days later.

Among the notable names on the list are Florida State redshirt freshman QB Jameis Winston, who has taken the college football world by storm in leading the ‘Noles to an undefeated record so far and a number three ranking across the board.

Alabama QB AJ McCarron also found his name on the list as he tries to complete his quest of becoming the only quarterback in college football history to put three national championship rings on his fingers.

Only one player from outside the power conferences, Fresno State QB Derek Carr, landed on the roster as he tries to lead his team to a BCS berth if they can stay unbeaten.

Here is the rest of the list for the coveted award:


2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalists:

Player Class Position College
Tajh Boyd SR QB Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater JR QB Louisville
Ka’Deem Carey JR RB Arizona
Derek Carr SR QB Fresno State
Brandin Cooks JR WR Oregon State
Mike Evans Soph WR Texas A & M
Melvin Gordon Soph RB Wisconsin
Sean Mannion JR QB Oregon State
Johnny Manziel Soph QB Texas A & M
Marcus Mariota Soph QB Oregon
AJ McCarron SR QB Alabama
Aaron Murray SR QB Georgia
Bryce Petty JR QB Baylor
Bishop Sankey JR RB Washington
Lache Seastrunk JR RB Baylor
Jameis Winston FR QB Florida State

Tags: College Football Maxwell Award

comments powered by Disqus