Oct 5, 2013; Knoxville, TN, USA; Georgia Bulldogs quarterback Aaron Murray (11) calls out a play against the Tennessee Volunteers during the second quarter at Neyland Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports

Academic Heisman finalists revealed


The William V. Campbell Trophy has announced it’s finalists. The trophy is known as the “Academic Heisman.”

Georgia Bulldogs’ quarterback Aaron Murray tops the names on the list. Murray is easily the most well-known player up for the award. The only other player with real name recognition is Fresno State Bulldogs’ quarterback Derek Carr.

This season, Murray has completed 139-of-224 passes for 1,938 yards with 17 touchdowns and six interceptions. He’s also rushed for five touchdowns.

Carr is 251-of-364 for 2,574 yards with 25 touchdowns and four interceptions. He’s also rushed for one touchdown for the unbeaten Bulldogs.

J.J. Stankevitz of College Football Talk runs down the rest of the contenders:

The two quarterbacks are among 18 finalists announced by the National Football Foundation on Thursday, joining six other FBS players: Michigan State LB Max Bullough, Oklahoma OL Gabe Ikard, Nebraska OL Spencer Long, Iowa LB James Morris, Duke OL Perry Simmons and Penn State OL John Urschel.

The other finalists: Northwest Missouri State QB Trevor Adams, Johns Hopkins (Md.) LB John Arena, Coastal Carolina WR Niccolo Mastromatteo, Cornell QB Jeff Matthews, Texas A&M-San Antonio QB Eric Soza, West Texas A&M QB Dustin Vaughn, Appalachian State WR Tony Washington and Augustana (Ill.) LB Erik Westerberg.

Tags: Aaron Murray Derek Carr

comments powered by Disqus