Announcement is hiring paid news desk writers. Apply here! ×

Oct 12, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; Oregon Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota (8) passes the ball against the Washington Huskies during the 2nd half at Husky Stadium. Oregon defeated Washington 45-24. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

2013 Davey O'Brien Award semifinalists named

The 16 semifinalists for the Dave O’Brien Award, given annually to the best quarterback in college football, were announced on Monday. The SEC led all conferences with five players nominated, and the Pac-12 was second with three nominations.

Here, courtesy of the Davey O’Brien website, is the official list:

Blake Bortles, UCF, AAC
Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC
Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC
Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC
Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
A.J. McCarron, Alabama, SEC
Zach Mettenberger, LSU, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12
Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC
Jameis Winston, Florida State, ACC

The group of semifinalists is comprised of mainly big-name players, so it’s good to see guys like Blake Bortles and Sean Mannion make the cut. In a season during which no quarterback has truly distanced himself from the pack, it should be a tight race down the stretch.


Tags: A.J. McCarron Davey O'Brien Marcus Mariota Tajh Boyd Teddy Bridgewater

comments powered by Disqus