2013 Doak Walker Award semifinalists announced

Prev1 of 11Next
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Nov 9, 2013; Tucson, AZ, USA; Arizona Wildcats running back KaDeem Carey (25) is tackled by UCLA Bruins inside linebacker Eric Kendricks (6) during the fourth quarter at Arizona Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

Thursday afternoon, ten semifinalists were announced for the 2013 Doak Walker Award, given yearly to the nation’s top running back in all of college football.

While we marvel at the passing performances of quarterbacks in the game such as Johnny Manziel, Jameis Winston and Bryce Petty, we are constantly reminded of how valuable a strong running game still is to a team, and the young men on this list personify that week in and week out.

Last season’s winner of the coveted trophy was Wisconsin’s Montee Ball, who is now with the Denver Broncos. On this list, there is also another running back from the Badgers, as well as a host of others from around the country.

Let’s take a look at the semifinalists for the 2013 Doak Walker Award:

Prev1 of 11Next
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Topics: College Football, Doak Walker Award

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

23 minutes ago

TUF Nations Finale: Main card predictions and preview

31 minutes ago

NFL Draft Rumors: New York Jets to visit with Odell Beckham Jr

37 minutes ago

NFL Rumors: Kevin Williams leaves New York Giants visit without contract