Oct 6, 2013; Pittsburgh, PA, USA; Pittsburgh Pirates center fielder Andrew McCutchen (22) hits a double against the St. Louis Cardinals in the 8th inning in game three of the National League divisional series playoff baseball game at PNC Park. Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Pirates' Andrew McCutchen named 2013 NL MVP

The Pittsburgh Pirates’ center fielder Andrew McCutchen won the 2013 NL MVP award on Thursday. McCutchen helped lead the Pirates to the playoffs for the first time since the early 90s. McCutchen also becomes the 7th Pirates player to ever win the award, and the first in over 20 years. McCutchen reportedly got 28 first-place votes.

In 157 games this season, McCutchen batted .317/.404/.508. McCutchen had 185 hits, 38 doubles, 5 triples, 21 home runs, 97 runs and 84 RBIs. McCutchen had a WAR of 8.2 as well. McCutchen played well in the postseason as well. He batted .333 in six games and had seven hits.

In 2012, McCutchen finished in third in voting for the NL MVP Award behind Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants and Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Detroit Tigers’ Miguel Cabrera won the 2013 AL MVP Award. It was the second year in a row that he won the award.

Previous Pittsburgh Pirates to win the MVP award are:

  • Barry Bonds (1990, 1992)
  • Roberto Clemente (1966)
  • Dick Groat (1960)
  • Dave Parker (1978)
  • Willie Stargell (1979)
  • Paul Waner (1927)

Tags: Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh Pirates

comments powered by Disqus