Nov 23, 2013; Baton Rouge, LA, USA; Texas A

2013 Davey O'Brien finalists announced

The Davey O’Brien Award, the award picked to choose the nation’s best quarterback, has narrowed its list down to three finalists.  Those three quarterbacks are Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), Jameis Winston (Florida State), and A.J. McCarron (Alabama).

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M – 69.1% completions 3,537 yards, 9.94 yards per attempt, 32 touchdowns, 13 interceptions passing.  665 yards rushing, 5.5 yards per carry, and 8 touchdowns

A.J. McCarron, Alabama – 68.6% completions, 2,399 yards, 8.86 yards per attempt, 23 touchdowns, 5 interceptions

Jameis Winston, Florida State – 69.6% completions, 3,163 yards, 11.06 yards per attempt, 32 touchdowns, 7 interceptions.   126 yards rushing, 2.0 yards per carry, and 3 touchdowns

McCarron is the only senior of the group, while Manziel is a third year sophomore and Winston is just a redshirt freshman.  Much of the determining of this award will come down to valuing raw numbers as opposed to leadership, poise, and wins.  Manziel and the Aggies suffered their third loss this past week against LSU while both McCarron and Winston are undefeated and could be on a collision course in the BCS Championship Game.  On raw numbers, Manziel dwarfs the field while McCarron is a two time national champion competing for a third.  Winston has been a terrific quarterback for Florida State that has production as well as the undefeated record.

Congratulations to the finalist selected.

Tags: A.J. McCarron Davey O'Brien Award Florida State Seminoles Football Jameis Winston Johnny Manziel Texas A&M Aggies Football

comments powered by Disqus