Breaking News Adrian Peterson must stay away from Vikings until legal issues are resolved ×

Nov 23, 2013; Terre Haute, IN, USA; Abbey D'Agostino wins the NCAA Cross Country Championship. Mandatory Photo Credit: , USA Today Sports

Abbey D'Agostino and Edward Cheserk claim USTFCCCA awards

The USTFCCCA — that’s the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, in case you didn’t know — handed out their annual awards on Tuesday.

Your 2013 winners are…

Men’s National Athlete of the Year: Edward Cheserek, Oregon

Cheserek, a freshman at the University of Oregon, won the national championship in exciting fashion, surging past the defending national champion Kennedy Kithuka of Texas Tech. According to, the win makes Cheserek the first true freshman in his first year our of high school to win a national title since Bob Kennedy accomplished the feat in 1988.

Women’s National Athlete of the Year: Abbey D’Agostino, Dartmouth

D’Agostino dominated women’s cross country in 2013, capping an undefeated season by becoming the first Ivy League runner ever, regardless of gender, to win a national cross country championship. She finished as runner-up in 2012 and third in 2011.

Bill Dellinger Men’s National Coach of the Year: Mark Wetmore

Wetmore’s Colorado men’s team beat the Norther Arizona Lumberjacks by 20 points to capture the national title. The Buffaloes also won the Pac-12 team title.

Peter Tegen Women’s National Coach of the Year: Ray Treacy, Providence

Under Treacy’s guidance, the Providence Friars won their first cross country national title in school history.


Tags: Abbey D’Agostino Edward Cheserek USTFCCCA

comments powered by Disqus