Ten finalists named for 2013 Manning Award

Nov 9, 2013; College Station, TX, USA; Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, last year’s winner of the Manning Award. Mandatory Photo Credit: Thomas Campbell, USA Today Sports

The ten finalists for the 2013 Manning Award were announced on Tuesday. They are [cue drum roll]…

  • AJ McCarron, Alabama
  • Aaron Murray, Georgia
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon
  • Tajh Boyd, Clemson
  • Derek Carr, Fresno State
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
  • Bryce Petty, Baylor
  • Jameis Winston, Florida State
  • Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
  • Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville

Florida State’s Winston is the only freshman finalist. Last year Manziel became the first freshman to ever win the award.

Archie Manning released the following statement about the nominees:

This has been another great year for quarterbacks; and it’s getting more interesting as the games get bigger. We really appreciate our selection committee’s work in choosing this outstanding group of finalists. I’m looking forward to seeing how they all do over the next couple of weeks and through their bowl games as we prepare to honor our 10th winner in January (College Football Talk).

Previous winners of the award include Matt Leinart, JaMarcus Russell, Vince Young, Matt Ryan, and Cam Newton.

How do you all feel about the nominees, FanSiders? Any quarterbacks you feel were snubbed? Share your outrage in the comments below.

[Source: College Football Talk]


Topics: Jameis Winston, Johnny Manziel, Manning Award

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

30 minutes ago

Lightning’s Victor Hedman squirts camera man with water bottle (GIF)

35 minutes ago

New York Mets expected to promote Bobby Abreu on Monday

39 minutes ago

Paulina Gretzky Gold Digest behind-the-scenes photoshoot video