Nov 27, 2013; Brooklyn, NY, USA; Brooklyn Nets head coach Jason Kidd coaches against the Los Angeles Lakers during the second half at Barclays Center. The Lakers won 99-94. Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Jason Kidd fined $50,000 by NBA for intentional spill


In the final moments of the Brooklyn Nets loss to the Los Angeles Lakers on Wednesday night, Brooklyn head coach Jason Kidd pulled off a sneaky little stunt where he directed his player to bump into him before intentionally spilling his drink on the court to stall the action and give his team an extra timeout — the Nets were out of time outs and looking to draw up a play when the incident occurred.

It was clearly intentional and obvious cheating from Kidd, so many were wondering whether or not the league would punish him for his actions.

Today, we got our answer.

From Adrian Wojnarowski of Yahoo! Sports:

Honestly, Kidd got off a little light.

When you blatantly bend the rules like that, you deserve a minor suspension as well. If you missed Kidd’s exact stunt, you can watch video of the incident here.

Do you think the NBA took it too easy on Kidd? Sound off in the comments section below with your thoughts.

Tags: Brooklyn Nets Jason Kidd