Nov 30, 2013; Ann Arbor, MI, USA; Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Braxton Miller (5) runs the ball for a touchdown in the second quarter against the Michigan Wolverines at Michigan Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Big Ten announces Braxton Miller QB of the year, Connor Cook 2nd team

The Big Ten has announced their conference teams as voted by the coaches and media for the 2013 season.  The two quarterbacks that were picked by the coaches will face off in the Big Ten Championship this coming week.  Ohio State’s Braxton Miller was named quarterback of the year and Michigan State quarterback Connor Cook was named to the second team by the coaches.

Not only is this notable as the two teams play in the upcoming championship that has National Championship implications in addition to deciding who wins the Big Ten, but both quarterbacks were unable to play parts of the season.  Cook had some spot duty in the first two games of the season before taking over as the full time starter and leading the team to a 10-1 record with an undefeated conference record.  The sophomore threw for 2,119 yards, 17 touchdowns and 4 interceptions.

Braxton Miller missed two games and barely participated in a third.  Nevertheless, the junior was able to throw for 1,759 yards, 21 touchdowns and 5 interceptions while rushing for 891 yards on 132 attempts and 6 touchdowns.

The fact these two were able to earn this recognition is remarkable, but it might also be due to the fact that the Big Ten is really hurting in their overall quarterback play.  The seasons Miller and Cook have had have been solid, but their numbers are hardly spectacular.  They earned the recognition, but the Big Ten has to hope it can get more talented quarterbacks into the league and soon.

Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Big Ten Big Ten Championship Braxton Miller Connor Cook Michigan State Spartans Football Ohio State Buckeyes Football