Dec 8, 2012; New York, NY, USA; A detailed view of the Heisman Trophy during a press conference before the announcement of the 2012 Heisman Trophy winner at the Marriott Marquis in downtown New York City. Mandatory Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

2013 Heisman Trophy finalists announced: Jameis Winston, Johnny Manziel and AJ McCarron headline list

The deadline for Heisman voting was Monday, and now we’ve learned the candidates for this year’s award. There will be a total of six players traveling to New York City for the awards ceremony including last year’s Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Johnny Manziel. It is a rather large group for the awards ceremony, last year just three players were invited.

Here is the full list:

  • Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State Seminoles
  • Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M Aggies
  • Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois
  • Tre Mason, RB, Auburn Tigers
  • AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Andre Williams, RB, Boston College Eagles

There isn’t much that is surprising about this list, many of these players have been listed as front-runners or candidates for the majority of the season. While Johnny Manziel might have been the favorite to win, it looks like Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston is the favorite to win.

The freshman has led the Seminoles to an undefeated record and the BCS National Championship game. If he wins, he’d be the second consecutive freshman to win the word after Manziel won last year.

Winston has completed 67.9 percent of his passes for 3,820 yards, 38 touchdowns and just 10 interceptions. He also rushed for 193 yards and four touchdowns.

The Heisman Trophy ceremony will air live Saturday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.


comments powered by Disqus