Breaking News FSU suspends Jameis Winston for entire Clemson game ×

Nov 30, 2013; Auburn, AL, USA; Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback AJ McCarron (10) throws against the Auburn Tigers during the fourth quarter at Jordan Hare Stadium. Mandatory Credit: John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

Alabama QB A.J. McCarron wins 2013 Unitas Golden Arm Award

A day after C.J. Mosley was awarded the Butkus Award, for the nation’s best linebackerAlabama took home another individual honor; this time the 2013 Unitas Golden Arm Award going to quarterback A.J. McCarron.  McCarron won the award over a field that included Clemson’s Tajh Boyd, Fresno State’s Derek Carr, Northern Illinois’s Jordan Lynch and Georgia’s Aaron Murray.

“It is an unbelievable honor to win the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.” the quarterback said in a statement. “I can’t thank the Unitas family enough for selecting me as the 2013 winner. To have my name next to all of the great quarterbacks who have won this award in the past is truly an honor. I want to thank my teammates, Coach Saban and all of our assistant coaches for making this possible.”

McCarron finished the season with 2,676 yards passing, 26 touchdowns and 5 interceptions.  He was the eighth most efficient passer in the country as he guided the Crimson Tide to an 11-1 record and a bid in the All State Sugar Bowl against Oklahoma.

The 2012 winner of the award was Kansas State’s Collin Klein.  Congratulations to McCarron for winning the award.

Tags: A.J. McCarron

comments powered by Disqus