Texas DE Jackson Jeffcoat wins the Hendricks Award

Oct 26, 2013; Fort Worth, TX, USA; Texas Longhorns defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat (44) rushes the passer against TCU Horned Frogs offensive tackle Halapoulivaati Vaitai (74) in the third quarter of the game at Amon G. Carter Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

The Hendricks Award is given out each year to the nation’s top defensive end in honor of Ted Hendricks, the three-time All American at Miami (FL) and Hall of Famer as a member of the Oakland Raiders.  This year, they named Jackson Jeffcoat of the Texas Longhorns as the recipient of the award.  Among the finalists he beat out for the award were Michael Sam of Missouri, Shilique Calhoun of Michigan State, Vic Beasley of Clemson, Brad Daly of Montana State and Marcus Smith from Louisville.

This season, Jeffcoat had 37 tackles, 18 tackles for loss, 12 sacks, an interception, forced fumble, 4 pass deflections and a blocked kick.  He was able to come back and have a big year after missing much of last year with a shoulder injury.  Jeffcoat and the 8-4 Longhorns are preparing to take on the 10-2 Oregon Ducks in the Valero Alamo Bowl on December 30th.  The Ducks are currently ranked 10th in the country, so the Longhorns may be a sizable underdog in this game.

Congratulations to Jeffcoat on the award.

Topics: Hendricks Award, Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas Longhorns Football

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

LiveFeed The latest from the Fansided Network

Comments 0

Emmy Awards 2014: Seth Meyers announced as host

Comments 0

Tommy John cannot believe all the Tommy John surgeries in 2014

Comments 0

NBA Rumors: Marshall’s hiring of Dan D’Antoni not related to Mike D’Antoni’s Lakers’ future