Aaron Donald wins 2013 Bednarik Award

Sep 28, 2013; Pittsburgh, PA, USA; Pittsburgh Panthers defensive lineman Aaron Donald (97) sacks Virginia Cavaliers quarterback David Watford (5) during the second quarter at Heinz Field. Mandatory Credit: Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Add another one to the trophy case for Pittsburgh Panthers star defensive tackle Aaron Donald. After being the recipient of the 2013 Outland Trophy, 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy and being named the ACC’s Defensive Player of the Year, Donald was named the winner of the Bednarik Award, which goes to the player named the nation’s top defender by the Maxwell Football Club..

Donald was able to beat up stiff competition from UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr and Alabama linebacker CJ Mosley, and became the first ACC player since E.J. Henderson in 2002 to bring home the Bednarik Award.

The award was handed out to Donald from Northwestern head coach Pat Fitzgerald, who won the award in back-to-back years in 1995 and 1996, which were the first two years of the award’s existence.

Congratulations to Aaron Donald for the great season and for piling up all of the awards.

Topics: Aaron Donald, Football, Pittsburgh Panthers

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

13 minutes ago

The Armchair Quarterback’s Guide To The NFL: Johnny Manziel

13 minutes ago

NHL Playoffs 2014, Flyers at Rangers: live stream, start time, TV info and more

13 minutes ago

When do the 2014 NBA Playoffs start?