AJ McCarron wins 2013 Maxwell Award

To cap off his impressive career, Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback A.J. McCarron was named the 2013 Maxwell Award winner as the college football player of the year. McCarron beat out Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel and Davey O’Brien winner Jameis Winston of Florida State.

After being knocked out of the national title picture on a last second missed field foal return against Auburn, taking home the Maxwell Award is a great consolation prize.

McCarron looked a bit surprised that he won the award, but it was well deserved after a great college career.

With the Maxwell Award under his belt, McCarron will now travel to New York City for Saturday’s Heisman Trophy ceremony, where he will be looking to pull off the upset over Winston, who many believe will win by a wide margin.

Tags: AJ McCarron Alabama Crimson Tide Football

comments powered by Disqus