Nov 30, 2013; Gainesville, FL, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) calls a play to offensive linesman Bryan Stork (52) against the Florida Gators during the first quarter at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Florida State center Bryan Stork wins the Rimington Trophy

Just before the College Football Awards started Thursday, Florida State Seminoles’ center Brian Stork won the Rimington Trophy, which is given to the top center in college football.

Stork has spent the season snapping to quarterback Jameis Winston, who has already been named the ACC Player of the Year and won the Walter Camp Award for National Player of the Year.

Stork has been a steady force on one of the country’s best offensive lines and has helped the Seminoles’ set several school and conference records.

The formula for the Rimington Trophy isn’t all that complicated. It is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. It uses the teams selected by the Walter Camp Foundation (WCF), Sporting News (SN)  and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

The other finalists for the award were Reese Dismukes of the Auburn Tigers , Hroniss Grasu of the Oregon Ducks,  Gabe Ikard of the Oklahoma Sooners,  Tyler Larsen of the Utah State Aggies and Travis Swanson of the Arkansas Razorbacks.

Tags: Bryan Stork Florida State Seminoles

comments powered by Disqus