Dec 7, 2013; Charlotte, NC, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) accepts the ACC Championship Trophy after defeating the Duke Blue Devils at Bank of America Stadium. FSU defeated Duke 45-7. Mandatory Credit: Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Jameis Winston wins 2013 Davey O'Brien Award

In a surprise to no one, Florida State Seminoles quarterback and Heisman Trophy favorite Jameis Winston was named the recipient of the 2013 Davey O’Brien Award, as the nation’s top quarterback. While Winston is expected to run away from the Heisman, he should feel even more confident knowing that six of the last seven O’Brien Award winners have also taken home the Heisman.

Winston earned the honor over Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Texas A&M signal-caller Johnny Manziel, who took home the Davey O’Brien Award just a year ago.

To further add to the storied history at Florida State, Winston joins Florida State quarterbacks Chris Weinke (2000) and Charlie Ward (1993) as the only winners of the award in the school’s history.

As a redshirt freshman, Winston will be able to make a run at repeating as the winner of the prestigious award next season.

Tags: Florida State Seminoles Football Jameis Winston

comments powered by Disqus