Dec 7, 2013; Charlotte, NC, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) runs the ball during the third quarter against the Duke Blue Devils at Bank of America Stadium. FSU defeated Duke 45-7. Mandatory Credit: Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Jameis Winston wins the Walter Camp Award for National Player of the Year

After dominating the ACC awards, picking up the league’s Player of the Year Award, Offensive Player of the Year Award and Freshman of the Year Award, Florida State Seminoles’ quarterback Jameis Winston won the Walter Camp Award for National Player of the Year on Thursday.

The redshirt freshman is in the middle of a legendary season. Winston has completed 237 of 349 passes for 3,820 yards with 42 total touchdowns and 10 interceptions. His top-ranked Seminoles will be the second-ranked Auburn Tigers in the BCS National Championship.

However, only one of the last six winners of the award have gone on to win the Heisman Trophy. That was the winner of the 2010 award, Auburn Tigers’ quarterback Cam Newton. The other winners during that time include Notre Dame Fighting Irish linebacker Manti Te’o (2012), Stanford Cardinal quarterback Andrew Luck (2011), Texas Longhorns’ quarterback Colt McCoy (2008 and 2009) and Arkansas Razorbacks’ running back Darren McFadden (2007).

Quarterback Charlie Ward is the only other Seminole to win the award, taking home the honor in 1993. He went on to win the Heisman. The Seminoles’ other Heisman winner, quarterback Chris Weinke, was beaten out for the Walter Camp Award by Oklahoma Sooners’ quarterback Josh Heupel in 2000.

Tags: Florida State Seminoles Jameis Winston

comments powered by Disqus