Heisman Trophy winner 2013: Jameis Winston wins award in landslide vote

Dec 14, 2013; New York, NY, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston during a press conference before the announcement of the 2013 Heisman Trophy winner at the Marriott Marquis in New York City. Mandatory Credit: Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

Florida State Seminoles freshman quarterback Jameis Winston has won the 2013 Heisman Trophy after a remarkable season. Winston received 668 first place votes, it was the fifth largest margin of victory in the modern era.

Winston led the Florida State Seminoles to an undefeated record, an ACC Championship and a BCS National Championship shot. Winston has completed 67.9 percent of his passes for 3,820 yards, 38 touchdowns and just 10 interceptions this season. He also rushed for 193 yards and four touchdowns.

Winston beat out another Heisman winner in Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel. Amongst others, Winston also beat out Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron who has had a successful career in Alabama winning multiple national championships.

Winston also won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Dave O’Brien Award, which honors the nation’s top quarterback.

“When you have a team like that, anyone can go out there and do that,” Winston said on ESPN at the 23rd Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, via The News-Herald.

Topics: Florida State Seminoles, Heisman Trophy, Jameis Winston

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.
  • Keith Hopper

    Sad a rapist can win the Heisman!!

27 minutes ago

Nature Has an Order in New TV Spot for Godzilla (Video)

35 minutes ago

Washington Huskies reveal new football uniforms (Photo)

38 minutes ago

Blackhawks coach Joel Quennevile apologizes for crotch-grabbing incident