Oct 16, 2013; Irving, TX, USA; New chairman of the playoff committee Jeff Long speaks to the media at the College Football Playoff Headquarters. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Glendale, Tampa land 2016, 2017 title games

Once the NCAA announced that they would be moving from the current BCS system to four-team playoff starting in the 2015 season, they also announced that any site could put in a bid for the title game. The game would not have to go to one of the four BCS title game sites, which are the Fiesta Bowl at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, the Orange Bowl at Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California and the Sugar Bowl at the Mercedes Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana.

AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, the home of the Dallas Cowboys, bid and won the chance to host the first title game in 2015.

The 2016 and 2017 title game locations were announced on Monday. The 2016 game will be at the Fiesta Bowl while the 2017 game will be in Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida.

University of Phoenix Stadium is the home of the Arizona Cardinals while the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and South Florida Bulls play at Raymond James Stadium.

As for the locations of semifinals, ESPN’s Brett McMurphy has the answer.

During the 12-year College Football Playoff contract, the semifinals will be at:

• Rose and Sugar bowls: Jan. 1, 2015; Jan. 1, 2018; Jan. 1, 2021; and Jan. 1, 2024.

• Orange and Cotton bowls: Dec. 31, 2015; Dec. 31, 2018; Dec. 31, 2021; and Dec. 31, 2024.

• Fiesta and Chick-fil-A bowls: Dec. 31, 2016; Dec. 31, 2019; Dec. 31, 2022; and Dec. 31, 2025.

Tags: College Football Playoff

comments powered by Disqus