Jason Dufner’s goofy mishit

Photo Credit: Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports.

Sometimes, the best golfers in the world make embarrassing mistakes.  Jason Dufner had his embarrasing moment during the final round of the Franklin Templeton Shootout this past Sunday.

As Dufner attempted to address his putt on the 9th green, he inadvertently hit his ball.  The ruling would have been a one-stroke penalty, and moving the ball back to its original position, but Dufner simply picked up and allowed his partner, Dustin Johnson, to make the par for the team score.  After Johnson putted out, Dufner made a smooth wack at his ball, sending it into the pond.

Check out the video here.

Jason Dufner is easily one of the most talented players on the PGA Tour.  He won the PGA Championship at Oak Hill in August, and is currently 15th in the Official World Golf Rankings.

Inadvertent strokes are bound to happen when you play enough golf on TV.  The funny thing is Dufner seemed to crack up, and so did fellow competitor Chad Campbell.  Vince Cellini, the on air announcer, also laughed about it.  Considering the event was an exhibition, and not an official tournament on the PGA Tour, laughter was more than appropriate.

 

Please follow us on Twitter @fansided, and “like” our page on Facebook.

Topics: Franklin Templeton Shootout, Jason Dufner

Want more from FanSided?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

15 minutes ago

Michael Cuddyer day-to-day for Rockies

18 minutes ago

College football recruiting: 3-star QB Kelly Bryant commits to Clemson Tigers

24 minutes ago

David Ferrer upsets Rafael Nadal in Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters quarterfinals