Dec 7, 2013; Tempe, AZ, USA; Stanford Cardinal guard Kevin Danser (76) and fullback Ryan Hewitt (85) hold back Arizona State Sun Devils defensive tackle Will Sutton (90) during the first half at Sun Devil Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

Xavier Su’a-Filo and Will Sutton are your 2013 Morris Trophy winners

For the second year in a row, Arizona State Sun Devils defensive tackle Will Sutton took home the defensive portion of the Pac-12’s Morris Trophy. Joining him is UCLA offensive guard Xavier Su’a-Filo, who took home the honor on the offensive side of the ball.

Both players were first-team all-conference selections in 2013.

So what is the Morris Trophy? Glad you asked!

Per the Morris Trophy website:

Winners of the Morris Trophy are selected by receiving the highest number of votes from opposing players. The process begins with each PAC-12 Head Football Coach submitting the names of the top two offensive and defensive linemen on their team to the Morris Trophy office. A ballot is then created and distributed to opposing players in the conference. A maximum of 8 defensive linemen and 10 offensive linemen from each team vote for the best player each has played against during the current season. Votes are compiled after the PAC-12 season and winners are announced in mid-December.

Nothin’ quite like earning the respect (and fear) of your peers, right?

Sutton and Su’a-Filo will be presented with their awards on January 16, 2014.

[Source: ESPN]

Tags: Will Sutton Xavier Su’a-Filo

comments powered by Disqus