Announcement is hiring! List ' News Desk' as interested position. APPLY NOW! ×

Dec 7, 2013; Charlotte, NC, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston (5) scores a touchdown as Duke Blue Devils cornerback Bryon Fields (14) and linebacker David Helton (47) and defensive end Kenny Anunike (84) and safety Dwayne Norman (40) defend in the third quarter at Bank of America Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

Jameis Winston named Associated Press player of the year

Another day, another award won by Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston. Having already been given the Heisman Trophy, the Walter Camp national player of the year honor, and the Davey O’Brien quarterback of the year award, Winston added to the Associated Press national player of the year award to his trophy case on Tuesday.

Winston won in a landslide, capturing 49 out of the 56 votes cast. The remaining votes were distributed amongst Jordan Lynch, AJ McCarron, Andrew Williams, and Darqueze Dennard.

Winston, who will lead the Seminoles against the Auburn Tigers for the national title on January 6, put together a remarkable freshman campaign in 2013. (You know, in case that wasn’t evident by the slew of awards). Winston completed 67.9 percent of his passes for 3,820 yards and a whopping 38 touchdowns, throwing only 10 interceptions. His 38 touchdowns set an ACC single-season record, and he bumped Chris Weinke from atop the Florida State record books in that category. He also added 193 rushing yards and four touchdowns on the ground.

[Source: Associated Press via ESPN]



Tags: Florida State Seminoles Jameis Winston

comments powered by Disqus