Dec 14, 2013; New York, NY, USA; Florida State Seminoles quarterback Jameis Winston poses for a photo after being awarded the 2013 Heisman Trophy at the Marriott Marquis in New York City. Mandatory Credit: Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

FWAA 2013 Freshman All-American team headlined by Jameis Winston

The Football Writers of America released its 2013 Freshman All-American team this afternoon just hours before the 2014 BCS Championship Game kicks off between Auburn and Florida State.

Of course the team is highlighted by Heisman trophy winning quarterback of the Seminoles, Jameis Winston and the coach named to the team is the man charged with trying to slow him down tonight on the other sidleine, Gus Malzahn.

Here is the team announced by the FWAA:


QB Jameis Winston, Florida State
RB • Alex Collins, Arkansas
RB • Elijah McGuire, Louisiana
WR • Tyler Boyd, Pittsburgh
WR • Corey Davis, Western Michigan
WR • Nate Phillips, Arizona
TE • Hunter Henry, Arkansas
OL Jack Conklin, Michigan State
OL Andrew Jelks, Vanderbilt
OL Alex Kozan, Auburn
OL Ben Lauer, Minnesota
OL • Alex Redmond, UCLA


DL • Tarell Basham, Ohio
DL • Joey Bosa, Ohio State
DL • Eddie Vanderdoes, UCLA
LB • Dominque Alexander, Oklahoma
LB • Dakota Cox, New Mexico
LB • Addison Gillam, Colorado
LB • Myles Jack, UCLA
DB • Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech
DB Jacoby Glenn, UCF
DB • Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida
DB • Jalen Ramsey, Florida State
DB Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma


P • Austin Rehkow, Idaho
K • Michael Geiger, Michigan State
PR • Ryan Switzer, North Carolina
KR • Stacey Coley, Miami

Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Tags: Alex Collins Florida State Seminoles Jameis Winston Myles Jack