Mandatory Credit: Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports

FIFA Ballon d'Or 2013: Cristiano Ronaldo left Lionel Messi off his ballot

FIFA has presented the 2013 Ballon d’Or trophy on Monday. Real Madrid and Portugal superstar Cristiano Ronaldo won the award ending a run of four-consecutive wins by Barcelona super star Lionel Messi.

Barcelona and Real Madrid is one of the fiercest rivalries in all of sports. The personal rivalry between Ronaldo and Messi is legendary as well while the two are usually mentioned in the same sentence as the best players in the world.

Messi voted for all Barcelona players, leaving himself off the ballot. Ronaldo also didn’t vote for himself, but didn’t vote for Messi either. He only voted for two other Real Madrid players though. He voted for new teammate Gareth Bale and former teammate Mesut Özil, who is now currently with Arsenal.

He didn’t put either of them first, he gave that honor to former derby rival Radamel Falcao who played for Atletico Madrid before making the move to AS Monaco.

Ronaldo’s ballot:

  1. Radamel Falcao
  2. Gareth Bale
  3. Mesut Özil

See all the voting results for the 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or here.

Tags: Ballon D'Or Barcelona Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA Lionel Messi Real Madrid

comments powered by Disqus