Jan 1, 2014; Glendale, AZ, USA; Baylor Bears quarterback Bryce Petty (14) throws a pass against the Central Florida Knights during the Fiesta Bowl at University of Phoenix Stadium. Central Florida defeated Baylor 52-42. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Baylor QB Bryce Petty becomes inaugural winner of Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Baylor Bears junior quarterback Bryce Petty led the team to their first-ever BCS appearance this past season, and now for those efforts, he’s achieved another first as he was named the inaugural recipient of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award on Friday.

This award was created in 2012 and it honors the best offensive football player from the Division I level of college football that either hails from the state of Texas or has graduated from an institution within the state.

Looking at the competition, Petty beat out some big names in the likes of Johnny Manziel, Mike Evans and Jace Amaro.

But make no mistake about it, Petty was more than deserving of this honor.

In his first season under center for Art Briles and the Bears, Petty was one of the more efficient quarterbacks in the nation, completing over 62 percent of his pass attempts for over 4,200 yards and 32 touchdowns. He also tossed just a mere three interceptions throughout the entire year.

Petty has already announced that he will return to Waco next season, so we’ll see if he can not only be the first winner of this illustrious award, but the second as well.


Tags: Baylor Bears Bryce Petty Football

comments powered by Disqus