July 27, 2012; London, United Kingdom; The delegation of India (back) walks during the athletes parade during the opening ceremony for the 2012 London Olympic Games at Olympic Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Robert Deutsch-USA Today Sports

Narayana Ramachandran to be new IOA president

Since he was the only candidate to put his proverbial hat in the ring before Friday’s deadline, current World Squash Federation (WSF) chief Narayana Ramachandran will be unanimously elected as the new president of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) when elections are held of February 9.

Also running unopposed are Rajeev Mehta and Anil Khanna, who are slated, respectively, to be elected to the secretary general and treasurer positions.

For those unaware, the IOA is currently in the International Olympic Committee’s (IOC’s) doghouse. After a series of controversial elections, the IOC suspended the IOA’s right to compete in international competitions, meaning Indian athletes would be required at compete under the Olympic flag as opposed to their country’s flag at any event. Although the IOA eventually relented to the IOC’s pressure to hold new elections and remove corrupt officials from power, the IOC still decided to uphold their punishment of the IOA through the 2014 Sochi Olympics since the requisite new elections wouldn’t be held until after the opening ceremonies.

[Source: The Times of India]

Tags: Indian Olympic Association

comments powered by Disqus