Feb 14, 2014; Tempe, AZ, USA; Arizona State Sun Devils guard Jahii Carson (1) celebrates with Bo Barnes (4) after beating the Arizona Wildcats at Wells Fargo Arena. The Sun Devils defeated the Wildcats 69-66 in double overtime. Mandatory Credit: Rick Scuteri-USA TODAY Sports

Pac-12 admits they missed the call, should have assessed a technical on Arizona State

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

The Pac-12 admitted that the officials in the Arizona Wildcats-Arizona State Sun Devils basketball game on Friday night missed the call on a dunk in the final seconds that could have altered the outcome in the Sun Devils’ upset over the No. 2 team in the nation.

A technical foul on Arizona State’s Jahii Carson should have been called for hanging on the rim with 0.5 seconds left and the conference admits they “missed the call” in the Sun Devil’s 69-66 win in double overtime.

Following a block by Jordan Bachynski with 5.2 seconds left Carson hung on the rim and did a chin-up after the dunk and lingering on the rim which should have resulted in a technical foul being assessed according to the NCAA rule book.

“The NCAA rulebook cites Section 4 Class B technical infractions Article 1, letter f, which states that “Grasping either basket in an excessive, emphatic manner during the officials’ jurisdiction when the player is not, in the judgment of an official, trying to prevent an obvious injury to self or others” results in a technical.” [source: ESPN.com]

Pac-12 officials have been criticized for their poor officiating in basketball and football, so failing to see a blatant technical foul is not going to help their reputation.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Arizona State Sun Devils Arizona Wildcats Basketball

comments powered by Disqus