Feb 12, 2014; Pittsburgh, PA, USA; Syracuse Orange guard Tyler Ennis (11) and the Orange bench react after Ennis shoots a three point basket to defeat the Pittsburgh Panthers at the Petersen Events Center. Syracuse won 58-56. Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Who is the best point guard in college basketball?

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has whittled 80 candidates down to 24 players who are competing to be named the best college basketball point guard of the season. The last man standing will be the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award winner.

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, the annual honor recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball.

“The 24 athletes on this list represent the most committed, determined and skillful point guards in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “We are honored to be recognizing their strengths and are excited to move forward in the selection process.”

Beginning today through March 10th, fans can vote for the top point guard in college basketball on www.cousyaward.com.  The current list of 24 finalists will be narrowed down to five players by early March.

“The men on this list all have the athletic qualities of an exceptional true point guard in the game of college basketball, the same qualities that made Mr. Cousy an iconic player,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award.  “All of these young men are on this list because they deserve to be competing for this well-respected award.”

The finalists include:

Jahii Carson, Arizona State University

Billy Baron, Canisius College

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University

Siyani Chambers, Harvard University

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana University

DeAndre Kane, Iowa State University

Jason Brickman, LIU Brooklyn

Keith Appling, Michigan State University

Aaron Craft, Ohio State University

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State University

Xavier Thames, San Diego State University

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse University

T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona

Justin Cobbs, University of California, Berkeley

Kyle Anderson, University of California, Los Angeles

Shabazz Napier, University of Connecticut

Scottie Wilbekin, University of Florida

Chaz Williams, University of Massachusetts

Kendall Williams, University of New Mexico

Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina

Eric Atkins, University of Notre Dame

James Robinson, University of Pittsburgh

Juwan Staten, West Virginia University

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State University

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Arizona State Sun Devils California Golden Bears Connecticut Huskies Florida Gators Gonzaga Bulldogs Indiana Hoosiers Iowa State Cyclones Massachusetts Minuteman Michigan State Spartans New Mexico Lobos North Carolina Tar Heels Notre Dame Fighting Irish Ohio State Buckeyes Oklahoma State Cowboys Pittsburgh Panthers San Diego State Aztecs Syracuse Orange Wichita State Shockers

comments powered by Disqus