Apr 5, 2013; Atlanta, GA, USA; CBS broadcaster Jim Nantz (left) sits next to NCAA vice president Dan Gavitt (right) during the 75 years of March madness press conference in preparation for the Final Four of the 2013 NCAA basketball tournament at the Georgia Dome. Mandatory Credit: Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

CBS and Turner Sports announce 2014 NCAA Tournament broadcast information

March is the month most closely associated with college basketball (with good reason), and with the third month of the year set to begin this week, “March Madness” is rapidly approaching. With that, CBS and Turner Sports have announced information regarding their broadcast team for this year’s tournament.

The big guns are involved once again for both CBS and Turner, with personalities like Jim Nantz (lead play-by-play), Charles Barkley/Kenny Smith (NBA-led studio team), and Steve Kerr (Final Four in-game analyst) back, but there are also some significant shake-ups here. The most noticeable change is in the 3rd chair of the Final Four broadcast team, as mainstay Clark Kellogg (who took over when Billy Packer retired) has been moved to studio duty and Greg Anthony has been “promoted” to the seat between Nantz and Kerr.

In addition, Ernie Johnson will be taking over duties as the main studio host for the Final Four, and any time you can get more of EJ, it’s an undeniably good thing. There has been an outcry since Gus Johnson moved on from CBS surrounding the broadcast pairings, but with guys like Marv Albert and Kevin Harlan calling games with Bill Raftery and Doug Gottlieb as analysts, the “Madness” is in good hands.

Tags: CBS Sports

comments powered by Disqus